Catch Up, Part 2

Summer reading…

The End Of Everything by Megan Abbot – I found this creepy and not in a good way. I heard it described as being realistic about how teens think and act. I disagree.

The Trouble With Goats And Sheep by Joanna Cannon – Reminds me of my childhood summers and all the mischief I got into with my best friend.

Before The Fall by Noah Hawley – Such a good premise, mysterious plane crash, only two survivors. Then it takes every character and goes on and on about nothing.  And the ending?  What a disappointment. 

The Book Of Unknown Americans – Should be required reading.

Just Mercy: A Story of Justice And Redemption by Bryan Stevenson – More of should be required reading.

Something New: Tales From A Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley – Getting married? Overwhelmed by it all? Then this graphic memoir is for you.

This Must Be The Place by Maggie O’Farrell –  O’Farrell is one of my favorite author’s, but this one just didn’t do it for me.

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansar – I prefer the old fashion way of romance. You know, actually talking to people.

The Museum Of You by Carys Bray – A young girl tries to connect to her absent mother. Sounds sad doesn’t it? But it’s really not. There are sad parts, but then it can be laugh-out-loud funny. And you just feel good about things in the end.

The Warmth Of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson – Excellent telling of an ignored, but equally important part of American history.

Twelve Angry Men – Audio theatre. Can’t go wrong with this one.

Yaqui Delgado Wants To Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina – Good YA story about bullying.

Now onto some fall reading!

 

Jill

