Catch Up, Part 1

I haven’t done a great job at keeping up. Life’s been a distraction and then there was my bout of reader’s block, which appears to be over for now. Here’s a little round up of what I’ve been reading since my last post.

Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy – I loved the movie so I had to read the book. It’s typical Thomas Hardy, tragic but has a happier ending.

Girl At War by Sara Novic – The section on life in pre-war Croatia was more interesting than post-war life in America. But the writing is very good. An author to watch.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi – I dare you to read it and not cry.

Girl Unmoored by Jennifer Gooch Hummer – Some of the plot seemed pointless, like the Brazilian stepmother, but Apron’s such a great character. I couldn’t stop reading.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – This one spoke to me.

Mosquitoland by David Arnold – I bought it because of the cover. But the book itself wants to be a John Green story. And, well, John Green stories are better.

Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechtel – No where near as good as Fun Home.

Elemental by Amanda Curtain – One of those where the first 3/4 is great and then a total peter out. Still worth a read.

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton – Seeing the movie so many times spoiled it for me.

The Fur Person by May Sarton – Cute tale about cat life from the cat himself.

One Life: My Mother’s Story by Kate Grenville – Your family’s story is important. Record it while you can.

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brusker Bradley – I found the mother’s behavior disturbing, but thankfully there’s a happy ending.

 

To be continued…

 

Jill

